Osinbajo Congratulates Tinubu For Winning APC Primaries

It has been over 24 hours since Tinubu was announced the winner of the APC primaries. Vice President Osinbajo has finally sent his congratulatory message to Tinubu for his victory.

The APC primaries commenced on Monday 6th of June with about 13 contestants left in the race for the party’s presidential ticket. While the primaries went on, many of the aspirants had stepped down for Tinubu before the voting process began.

The 2,340 APC delegates cast their votes and the results were announced on Wednesday 8th of June. Tinubu surpassed other aspirants, having a total of 1271 votes. Rotimi Amaechi who was second in line polled about 317 votes. Vice president Yemi Osinbajo came third with a total of 235 votes.

Following Tinubu’s victory, Osinbajo issued a statement yesterday 9th of June congratulating Tinubu on his victory.

The statement read:

“I congratulate Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu on his victory at our party primaries and his emergence as the Presidential Candidate and Flagbearer of our great party, the APC for the forthcoming 2023 Presidential Elections.

“l also congratulate President Muhammadu Buhari and all leaders of the APC for a successful Special Convention and Presidential Primary.

Osinbajo congratulate Tinubu on the APC primaries victory

“For many decades, our Flagbearer has shown passion, patriotism, courage and determination in the cause of nation-building. His sterling contributions to our democracy and its progress stand him out. His wealth of experience will certainly be critical in our party’s continued efforts to attain a more secure and prosperous Nigeria.

“To all members of our great party, regardless of who you voted for at the primaries, we must now unite behind our Presidential Candidate and Flagbearer to ensure victory for our party in the 2023 elections.

As true progressives, we must remain strong and united in pursuing our collective vision as a party toward building a country that can provide a decent life and livelihoods for all our people.”

Leave a Comment

[hurrytimer id="12152"]